Perpetual Birthday Calendar

Facebook posts and IMs are nice, but I really think a great birthday card – mailed to your home – is irreplaceable. I used to use my ubiquitous Moleskine for this task and penciled in the dates every year, but I’ve recently switched to using a perpetual calendar that sends me email reminders one week prior to each special day. I’m currently using Google Calendar for this task, just because it’s easy and I already use the application through my Gmail account. However, it doesn’t sync up to iCal because Apple and Google just don’t play nice. So those dates don’t cross-populate and the email reminder will have to suffice. The never ending battles between my iCal, Outlook and Google calendars causes me perpetual irritation, but that’s a topic for another day.

I don’t think that I want to add yet another app to my crowded iTems, but if that appeals to you and you don’t mind sharing your Facebook info, Birthday Calendar Classic might work. The interface is a little irritatingly millennial, however.

http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/birthday-calendar-classic/id323425199?mt=8

And if you’re using a Droid device: http://www.simplydroid.com/sync-your-contacts-birthday-info-with-your-android-phone-calendar/

If analog versions are your thing, here’s a really down and dirty printable PDF you can use:

http://www.realsimple.com/static/pdfs/birthday-org.pdf

Or, if you want something pretty – try this one from Esty.com:

http://www.etsy.com/listing/65459753/perpetual-birthday-calendar?ref=sr_gallery_3&sref=&ga_includes%5B0%5D=tags&ga_search_query=perpetual+birthday+calendar&ga_ref=related&ga_page=1&ga_search_type=all&ga_facet=

Image

Leave a Reply

