Tech Tuesday: Goodreads

If you are a total bibliophile (read: dorkass) like I am, you’ll dig on Goodreads, a social networking site for book lovers that allows you to peruse what your friends are reading and post your list and reviews. Every member has a “bookshelf” with a list of books that they are currently reading, have completed reading, or are anticipating reading. The site has been around since 2007, but I’ve only recently been turned on to it via Facebook friends – probably because my nose is always buried in a book (or my Kindle).

Goodreads was the winner of Lifehacker’s “Hive Five Best Book Recommendation Service.” Once only web-based, you can now download the Goodreads app for your iPhone or Android device to keep track of your reading list (handy when you’re at the book store), search book reviews, and receive personalized recommendations based on what you’ve previously read and reviewed. Goodreads also “hosts” book clubs, which I’m particularly interested in as I don’t have the time – thanks to the kiddos – to go to a real-life book club, plus I’m painfully shy (I know, right…?)

I just started using the site and have yet to brain dump my huge list of books I’ve read, am reading, or intend to read, and start writing reviews. I need to take it a little bit at a time, I think, starting w/ my Kindle library and working from there.

Come take a gander at Goodreads – let me know what you think.

Image

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Tech Tuesday: Goodreads

  1. I love this site. I signed up for GoodReads and LibraryThing at the same time, but GoodReads was the one that kept my interest. I love actually being able to manage my TBR list instead of constantly losing little scraps of paper the way I used to. :p

Leave a Reply

