Friday Bites: Tiny Baby Steps

Image

Even though I’m tackling all of these OCD projects together in 2012, I still believe in making small, gradual improvements and making these improvements a habit by daily inclusion in my ubiquitous to-do Moleskine. Part of my organization/time-management reading list (full list under “About”) is “One Bite at a Time: 52 Projects for Making Life Simpler” by Tsh Oxenreider. This has more of a home organization vibe, but I’m always looking to make strides in that area – two kids, two pets and a home office can equal chaos if not properly obsessed over. I’ll be making one of these improvements per week, and since we’re already two weeks into January, I’m taking on #1 and #2 together. Here’s what’s on deck for this weekend:

#1. Eat Your Frog.

Oxenreider suggests that you do the worst thing on your plate first thing in the morning. Create your daily to-do list, choose the three most important tasks, pick the worst of the three and that is your frog. Typically this would be my daily checkbook balancing, but since I’m home with H all day, my frog is getting showered and dressed. Seriously, it’s all I can do to not wander around in yoga pants all day, filthy and bleary-eyed. I mean, what’s the point if I’m going to be couch-bound and covered in baby spew all day, right? This problem will clearly take care of itself when I start working and will be forced to look and smell presentable. But, for now, this is my “frog.” Time to suck it up and put on some mascara and gloss.

#2. Make a Debt-Free Plan

52 Bites recommends the snowball method of listing balances smallest to largest – paying them off in that order and then once a bill is paid, putting that monthly payment towards the next in line. Makes sense, F and I will be sitting down to do this today. A weekly marital budget meeting is also in order – I’m thinking Sundays, preferably over mimosas and bloodies.. I can’t talk about money without a cocktail. Right now we just talk finances when things are confused or dire – I’m thinking this commitment to a weekly chat will get us on the same page. OK – money meeting is now in the family calendar.

 

For more information by Tsh Oxenreider, visit www.52bites.com and www.simplemom.net

Leave a Reply

